The Editorial Apartment

How to get people to use the metro

Leave a comment

Around the mid-2000s, I was riding the LA Metro trains a few times a week across town to my workplace. I had plenty of time to observe the neighborhoods I passed, the type of people who rode the train, and to study the advertising campaign LA Metro was using.

The campaign had great consistency: an image area, a short paragraph, the logo, the website, all in predictable places in a poster-size layout. The copy was brief, personable and funny, which is welcoming and unusual to see from a transportation company.

Unfortunately, I never took a photo of any of the numerous posters I saw. Here is one that shows the format, though I don’t remember seeing it:

Source: This article from TheCityFix.

An online search for samples of the posters brought up another attention-getting transportation campaign: the award-winning video for Metro Trains Melbourne in Australia called “Dumb Ways to Die.” Watch:

Author: copyeditorgwen

I am a copy editor and my office is my apartment. I copyedit or proofread a wide range of digital and print marketing communications, as well as books and textbooks. Contact me if you need editorial help. My rates are reasonable, my work thorough, my turnaround fast. Visit my WordPress website: copyeditorgwen.com

Leave a Reply

