The Editorial Apartment

The most multilingual owner’s manual I’ve seen

2 Comments

The instructions for using my Bell bicycle helmet are repeated in 17 languages, including some not often seen, such as Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Norwegian, Czech, Polish, Russian, Slovak, Slovenian, Swedish and Hebrew. It’s a 3-foot-long, double-sided, multilingual treat!

BellUserManual

BellUserManual2

Finnish

Instructions in Finnish

Author: copyeditorgwen

I am a copy editor and my office is my apartment. I copyedit or proofread a wide range of digital and print marketing communications, as well as books and textbooks. Contact me if you need editorial help. My rates are reasonable, my work thorough, my turnaround fast. Visit my WordPress website: copyeditorgwen.com

2 thoughts on “The most multilingual owner’s manual I’ve seen

  1. many EU products we purchase in Israel also have the list of tongues you mention. Fun. You may notice that Finnish ‘writes long’, so to speak. the hebrew is much shorter, and the translation often leaves out important details.
    I often ‘read ’em all’ just to guess which one, by its accuracy, was the ‘original’. happy biking. JS Tel Aviv

Leave a Reply

